My start at the Museum of the White Mountains

1/27/14

       Before my official first day interning at the Museum of the White Mountains, I met with my on-site supervisor Lindsay, to discuss the work I would be doing at the museum. During this meeting I found out that for this semester internship I would be cataloging photographs for the museums online database using PastPerfect. Also it was discussed that I would be doing research into what are the latest technological trends of museums today, and what and how their presence is changing online. After the discussion I was excited to start my work at the museum and looked up websites and books which could help me with my future research. To get a basic background on the history of the White Mountains I went to http://whitemountainhistory.org/. On this website I found a lot of good information and links that led me to a basic understanding of the White Mountains and its history. Also at the library I found the books, Letting Go?: Sharing Historical Authority in a User-Generated World by Bill Adair, Benjamin Filene and Laura Koloski and Digital Technologies and the Museum Experience: Handheld Guides and Other Media by Loïc Tallon and Kevin Walker. From here, I am motivated to read these books over the semester and do further research on the technological trends of museums today.  

Leave a Reply

